Simon Masrani is Flamboyant

1909418_847267015317811_429564369049700814_o

HollywoodReporter (http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/jurassic-world-actor-irrfan-khan-756206) did an interview with Irrfan Khan about Jurassic World. Well, it wasn’t entirely about Jurassic World, but that’s all we really care about in this neck of the woods. From it, we learn that the dinosaurs in the movie will indeed be scary– a lot of people involved with the film have said this already, but it’s still nice to be reassured about it; I love my scary dinosaur scenes– and that Simon Masrani is a very “flamboyant” man. From JPLegacy, here’s the JW-related part of the interview:

Excerpts from a recent interview with Irrfan Khan about Jurassic World.

What can you tell us about your upcoming role in Jurassic World?

“I’m playing the park owner, a very flamboyant person. When the first Jurassic Park came out, I barely had the money to see it and now I’m playing a part. He’s trying to entertain the world with good intentions, but sometimes being flamboyant doesn’t mean having much wisdom.”

What can people expect from this film, different from the original?

“For sure it will have more vibe. It’s the Jurassic World of these times, with all the technical experimentation. It has now become a fully-bloomed dinosaur amusement park. Dinosaurs in this film will definitely be scary, but this is not a horror film, so it will be like a scary adventure.”

Was the filmmaking process difficult, with so many CGI costars?

“As an actor what’s most important is how the story and the director make you feel on the set and that’s immaterial if you have CGI or real partners. If you have a good chemistry with the director everything’s fine and I really loved the playfulness of the script and Colin’s approach.”

Flamboyant, given to showmanship, trying to entertain the world, well-meaning but unwise– I really hope Masrani isn’t just a John Hammond expy, because he seems like he has the potential to be a really interesting character. That’s the impression I’m getting right now; I hope I’m wrong. Also, the script is “playful”, apparently. I actually like that, as I assume it means there’s a lot of snappy one-liners and witty dialogue. Those are things people loved about all of the movies (at least, the first two), after all.

Now that we’ve got Khan’s perspective, I have a few other interview suggestions; possibly the D. rex will come forward. Or I’d love to hear what the Nublar Tufted Deer has to say about all of this.

2 thoughts on “Simon Masrani is Flamboyant

  1. I think Masrani has the potential to be an interesting character, but I have a feeling he might have a slightly more sinister edge, making him more then a Hammond expy. Or maybe he’ll be a bit more like Hammond in the novel, with the flamboyance more of a cover then anything. I don’t know though, it’s all just speculation. We’ll just have to wait and see.

    BTW, awesome site, and thanks for the follow.

    Like

    1. Thnak you very much! I love your blog too!

      I like the idea of his using harmless flamboyance to hide a more sinister side. I feel like the D. rex decision was entirely his, and he knew how dangerous it would be, but he cares more about making money from his park than people’s safety.

      Like

Leave a Reply

