Lego Jurassic World Trailer and Masrani Video

Today we got– well today we got one video, and the other one has been out for an indeterminate amount of time and I just haven’t covered it because I’m the school equivalent of a workaholic. But today we got the first Lego Jurassic World trailer! It doesn’t show gameplay, unfortunately, but it’s funny and you should still watch it. Basically all you need to know is summarized in two shots:

Cups

jpw

And, of course, the required joke:

JawDrop
Funny or gruesome, depending on how you look at it.

It’s not particularly exciting, but it’s a fun little clip. Watch it here: http://www.ew.com/article/2015/02/04/first-look-lego-jurassic-world-turns-scary-dinosaurs-adorable-lego-figures

The other video I want to show you is about the Masrani Corporation and can be accessed by going to the Masrani Global site. A lot of it is about oil drilling, communications, yadda yadda. Also, about how Masrani is a really big deal.

Masrani

A big, big deal, guys.

Oil

But this is like the Grey Enterprises website they put together for the Fifty Shades of Grey movie; it’s nice and great for making the universe feel padded-out and more expensive, but the fans are here for something, and it ain’t investor reports. So let’s just cut to the chase and see the Jurassic World-related stuff. The video explains that Masrani– who inherited the corporation– bought InGen in 1998 and fully restored it in 5 years.

Ingen

Sequence

Oddly enough, they talk vaguely about “genetic power” and show shots of scientists in clean white labs determinedly injecting things into other things, but don’t mention what that genetic power is used for. (Spoiler: it’s for wielding like a kid who’s found his dad’s gun.) You know, if I ran a company that brought freaking dinosaurs back to life, I’d take every possible opportunity to mention that fact. I’d rub it in Bill Gates’ face. I’d have little triceratops on leashes come to stockholder meetings with hors d’oeuvres trays on their backs. I’d have it printed on a T. shirt.

Jurassic World is strongly. strongly alluded to, but never outright mentioned.

Employees
The legacy of the Muldoon hat is being proudly carried on.

Part of being a good person is recognizing, admitting to and taking advantage of your faults. I fully realize that one of my character flaws is my tendency to hold people and things to high expectations. One of the things I try to work on is accepting that things won’t always turn out like I want them to. However, I fully expect this kid to be Ellie Sattler’s son Charlie, and if he isn’t, I’m gonna start a riot so big you don’t even know.

charlieorweriot

They must be really, really proud of this egg in particular, because this must be like the fifth separate time I’ve seen this shot:

Evolve

And other than a few flies in amber, that’s it for the Jurassic World content. If you want to go watch the video, it’s a good universe enhancer, but the rest of us are here for the dinosaurs.

I found something on the Jurassic World site:

ZZ6CE19898

Ignore the raptor claw toy and the 2013, possibly-to-be-rereleased-although-I-kinda-hope-not toy line. Look at the wall in the back.

ZZ6CE19898

That’s the I. rex on the right and, in the kind of irony I only dared to dream about as a young girl, I think it’s from a leak that Universal pounced on as soon as it came out. Oh yeah, I guess I can show you that now:

d-rex-jpg
All that shrink-wrapping. Shield the children’s eyes.

That or it’s some dinosaur’s snout that happens to look like the leaked I. rex’s head. But geez, isn’t it just so much better to believe it’s the first? And if you look to the right, holy crap does that raptor have feathers? I think I see a JP3 mohawk on the head, and the body looks suspiciously fluffy. The trained raptors are clearly featherless and I doubt they’d put photos of wild Nublar or Sorna raptors in their gift shop, so what is this? Either time will tell or I have a severe lighting-related wishful thinking problem.

Finally, I found this. It’s from the Main Street article on the Jurassic World site:

Holograms

I’m still holding out hope. I’m clinging to this piece of driftwood until it’s less than a splinter, and even then I’m gonna keep floating.

JP-IanMalcolm
♫Don’t stop believin’, hold on to that feeling ♫
Leave a Reply

