Momocon 2015: The Adventures of Malcolm

So I went to a con for the past couple of days! I would love to have stayed for all of today as well, but I’m flat broke and circumstances didn’t allow anyway. But I had an awesome time! There is actual Jurassic Park content here, I promise. But first let me show you some other really cool cosplayers I met! (By the way, if you see your picture here and want me to take it down or credit with your name, just shoot me a comment and I will.)

First of all, here’s me doing Vinyl Scratch from My Little Pony on Thursday:

0528151517

Ryuko from Kill la Kill (there were a lot of her there, but this one was the most unique):

0529151604

Genderswapped Elsa and Hans from Frozen:

0529151627

Jorgen von Strangle from Fairly Oddparents (he even did the accent!):

0529151222

Kamina and Yoko from Gurren Lagann:

0529151538a

Princess Luna from My Little Pony (I’ve run into this same cosplayer at 4 consecutive cons; fate?):

0529151518a

The best Joker I’ve ever seen:

0529151251

Genderswapped Ice King from Adventure Time:

0529151516a

A really, really good My Little Pony crew:

0529151500b

Storm from X-Men:

0529151236

The cast of The Emperor’s New Groove:

0529151342a

Jessica Rabbit from Who Framed Roger Rabbit:

0529151506

Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy (or in this case, Mermaid Woman and Barnacle Girl) from Spongebob Squarepants:

0529151811

Satsuki Kiryuin from Kill la Kill:

0529151017

Black Widow and Hawkeye from The Avengers:

0528151203a

And the entire cast of Puella Magi Madoka Magica (Sayaka gave me her Soul Gem, so now I guess I have a bit of new responsibility):

0529151933a

I also got to meet some cool guests while I was there. CJCroen1393, I think you might appreciate this. I got to meet Doug and Rob Walker, aka the Nostalgia Critic and his brother!

0529151115

He’s every bit as funny, friendly and awesome in person as he is in his videos. Someone brought a JP raptor toy and gave it to him at the beginning of the panel, and the first few minutes were just everybody making talking-raptor “Alan!” jokes. I carried a big raptor with me and got to join in the fun. Which brings me to the title of this post– I cosplayed Jurassic Park while I was there! I was Ellie Sattler for a couple of hours before I had to leave this morning, but I was Malcolm yesterday. Here’s me with an adorable little Harry Potter:

0529151634
My hair attempt was not successful and I cannot pose. I apologize.

So I walked around as Ian Malcolm all day. A few people recognized me– a heck of a lot more than I thought would!– and I got a few requests to do the weird Malcolm laugh. It was a blast! Here I am with Nostalgia Critic and his brother:

0529151339

His brother Rob and I did our Goldblum impressions at each other. It was a transcendent experience.

Finally, I got to meet a lot of really great cosplayers, but this one absolutely takes the cake. I was walking along on Friday when all of a sudden I heard “Ian, freeze!” behind me. I turned around and who was standing there but ALAN FREAKING GRANT:

0529151224

There was another Alan there (who I didn’t get to meet) but this guy is absolutely the best and made my whole life. There was a Hammond there too (I didn’t take this picture or meet the guy, unfortunately):

tumblr_np5u6u3NfI1qad71oo1_1280

But yep, that was a great con! If you were there, please hit me up! Now I need to formulate a plan for DragonCon, where I’ll be doing Malcolm as well. I’ll need a Kelly and some portable uneven bars.

4 thoughts on “Momocon 2015: The Adventures of Malcolm

  1. Wow, so many out of the box cosplay choices. Love it!

    Doug and Rob Walker?! Man, I’m so jealous. I’ve got to go to one of these things. My area (North Texas) does have some pretty great cons, but I usually find out about them after the fact.

    Like

Leave a Reply

