Jurassic World Sequel Details

Here’s the dilly-o: I love this blog. I love writing about JP, I love making dumb mosasaur jokes and having people actually appreciate them, and most of all, I love reading what you guys have to say. (Shoutout to Nekatron71, who’s been writing dinosaur dialogue in the comments sections and making me laugh my head off; and to Mike Jenkins, the absolute angel who’s been sending me story leads via email and who recently made some beautifully accurate ACU tracker watch graphics that I dare say all aspiring dinosaur trackers should have in their lives.) But I just started my senior year of school, and it is attempting to murder me. So while I can still update this, I can’t do any more 3,000+-word essays or movie reviews, at least not for now. But I do have news that must be covered and things that must be analyzed (plus that Lego JW review, fan art roundup, rest of the Fanfics You Should Be Reading for JW– gah) so I’ll have to do things in smaller doses for the time being. I’ll be putting up posts that are shorter than usual and that may be a bit behind current events, but I’ll still cover everything JP and I’ll do more when I get the opportunity to live like a normal human being again. Okay? Okay.

So first: we have two very important details about Jurassic World 2, straight from Colin Trevorrow. First of all, he has a lot of ideas about where dinosaur-cloning technology will lead, and they lean toward the idea of weaponized dinos. Here’s the full quote:

“[It will not be] just a bunch of dinosaurs chasing people on an island,” Trevorrow said. “That’ll get old real fast.”

“I feel like the idea that this isn’t always going to be limited to theme parks, and there are applications for this science that reach far beyond entertainment. And when you look back at nuclear power and how that started, the first instinct was to weaponise it and later on we found it could be used for energy.”

“And this isn’t something necessarily that was in the book but is a seed that I wanted to plant in this movie, is that might be able to grow in more of these movies if they decide to make more of them, is: What if this went open source? It’s almost like InGen is Mac, but what if PC gets their hands on it? What if there are 15 different entities around the world who can make a dinosaur?”

“And Dr Wu says in the film, when he’s warning Dr Masrani, ‘we’re not always going to be the only ones who can make a dinosaur’. I think that’s an interesting idea that even if we don’t explore fully in this film, there is room for this universe to expand. I shouldn’t use the word universe, because people will think we’re making a Jurassic World universe — we’re not.”

So we’re not going back to either of the islands for the main plot– a lot of people anticipated this, and he’s right, it is a concept that would get old pretty fast, especially with the general audience. He’s bringing back the Mac/PC dinosaur company war idea, as well as emphasizing that dinosaurs could very easily be used as weapons before they’re applied to anything else in this universe. (I said it! UNIVERSE, UNIVERSE, JP IS A UNIVERSE! You can’t stop me, Colin.) I think he might be hinting at Jurassic World being set a few years in the future, in Alan Grant’s personal utopia where dinosaurs and humans coexist; I think so because, if we’re using the nuclear power analogy, we had nuclear power as a weapon first and then an energy source, and today nuclear power is still being used as both. Especially with the end of JW, with Hoskins’ men bringing hybrid embryos off the island and possibly only hybrid dino embryos, it’s safe to say that a mainland plot is inevitable and hybrid experimentation by different companies is a serious possibility, why couldn’t we have both? I don’t want to speculate too much this early in the game, but I would give my firstborn for a movie about a time in the future when kids have pet pygmy dinosaurs, people walk small stegosaurs down Main Street, and willingly getting eaten by a T. rex is a viable end-of-life plan. (Of course, that’s not to say there wouldn’t be dark sides to this– there would be plenty– but that’s what the movie would probably deal with.)

As for the characters, since we know Owen and Claire are returning, I think there are two distinct possibilities as to what they could do in the plot, provided Trevorrow doesn’t pull a JP3 and give Claire a tiny cameo as someone else’s wife. First, they could be actively working to stop the use of dinosaurs in the military, or otherwise warning against the dangers of the dinosaurs they had to fight themselves. This would give them a cool Original Trilogy character vibe– sort of a Grant and Malcolm for the next generation. Second, they could be uneasy about dinosaurs– because anyone would be, after what they went through– but still working with them. I like this approach better; Owen is in his element when he’s with raptors, and Claire gets her groove on when she can manage dinosaurs. Possibly Claire is a higher-up at a dinosaur production company or head of Microsoft’s dino division, and Owen is still training dinosaurs for some reason that doesn’t upset his ethics. Either way, Lowery (assuming Trevorrow listens to the monolithic voice of the fandom and brings him back) will still be against it for sure. Lowery will rage against the machine until his dying breath.

Secondly (and this comes from Sickle_Claw on JPL; thanks, Sickle) we have an even more earth-shattering bit of news. Claire will not be wearing high heels in the sequel. Gasp with me:

Trevorrow had always been up front about his intention not to direct “Jurassic World’s” sequel, and his commitment to “Star Wars” makes it doubly sure that he won’t head back to the world of Jurassic Park. He still is producing “Jurassic World 2” though, and gave Howard some good news about a significant change to her character’s costume.

“When Colin confirmed to me that I was going to be in the next movie, the way he did it was he sent me a text. It was ‘#NoHeels2018,’” she says, referencing the heels her character Claire wore for the entirety of “Jurassic World. “I was like, ‘I’ll go with that.’”

I guess, like everyone else who joined the fandom after JW and is still in it, Trevorrow is just sick of the heels meme, and Bryce Dallas Howard is just as sick of being referred to as “the dinosaur lady in heels”. Still, though, the heels contributed just as much to the film as any actor did, and they will be sorely missed. We owe it to them to make #NoHeels2018 trend.

3 thoughts on “Jurassic World Sequel Details

Leave a Reply

