Dragon*Con 2015: The Adventures of Ian Malcolm and Claire Dearing

WOW. That’s all I have to say about Dragon*Con this year– wow. I could honestly sit here and tell you stories all day. I could tell you how I made friends with an Owen cosplayer who looks just like Chris Pratt, or how I went to a Star Wars-themed rave and danced with a guy in a Richard Nixon mask, a bald eagle wrapped in an American flag and Abraham Lincoln, or the impromptu dance party with Thing 1 and Thing 2 and Rocket Raccoon that I joined, or a million other things. But I don’t have that much time, so I’ll show you the many adventures of Ian and Claire through pictures.

If you or anyone you know is in these pictures, please let me know so I can give credit!

IMG_6367

IMG_6369

IMG_6308

IMG_6393

I met my new friend Aaron twice over the weekend. As you can see, he’s an awesome Chris Pratt doppelganger, and while he may not have been the best person I met there all weekend… actually, yeah. Yeah, he was the best person I met there all weekend.

IMG_6315

A Jurassic Park cosplay group without a Malcolm? Well, not anymore! (If any of these cosplayers are reading this, I love you and I wish I could’ve stayed with you longer. Please notice me, Senpais.)

IMG_6278

I can’t begin to describe how happy I was to see another Malcolm (and a really awesome one too! Look at the accurate leg tourniquet! The water glass! The face wounds!) or the thoroughly inhuman noise that came out of my mouth when I saw him, which probably made every dog within a 50-mile radius go ballistic. If you’re reading this, Malcolm guy, please accept this as my formal apology for breaking con etiquette and bear-hugging you with little to no warning.

IMG_6270

IMG_6286

IMG_6341

IMG_6273

0906151505

I’d also like to apologize to the several Alan Grants who I ran up to and screeched about pictures before unexpectedly side-hugging. You guys are the real MVPs.

0906151536b

IMG_6173

IMG_6322

IMG_6388

IMG_6362

IMG_6309

IMG_6174

IMG_6348

IMG_6344

IMG_6374

It can’t be overstated how many Owens and Claires I met, or how awesome they all were. I’d hoped that JW would be huge this year, but I had no idea just how huge it would be, so I was pleasantly surprised.

IMG_6304

IMG_6284

Malcolm met his old nemesis.

0906151539a

IMG_6281

Lots of margaritas were rescued. (I’m posing like a dork in that last one because come on, could you stop laughing if Margarita Guy was saving his babies right in front of you?)

IMG_6279

This is one of the best pictures I got the whole time. Malcolm was really in over his head here, but he kept his cool for a second before being mauled.

0905152131

Malcolm got to meet his biggest fanboy…

IMG_6313

0905151559

..and the original raptor hunter himself. As well as a few others:

IMG_6314

IMG_6317

IMG_6320
Considering who he acts and dresses like, you can imagine how big a moment this was for him.

IMG_6318

IMG_6294
They took my espresso machine from my research lab!
IMG_6277
The Not Explicitly Jewish Scientist Squad

Claire also met a few new friends, too:

IMG_6334
After becoming a Jedi, of course. That was pretty much inevitable.
IMG_6396
*”Mother****in’ T. Rex” song plays*

IMG_6333

IMG_6343
Another scientist squad. DK PEPPA!
IMG_6350
*aggressively hums Sally’s Song*

I was lucky enough to watch the Dragon*Con Parade, where Jurassic Park was represented very nicely and hilariously:

IMG_6230

IMG_6193

IMG_6198

IMG_6199

I saw some other amazing people as well, who had nothing to do with Jurassic Park but who deserve recognition regardless:

0905152156a

0905152119

0905152107a

IMG_6359

And finally, check out the swag I picked up:

0907151817a

0907151817
Official prop replica, baby.
0907151816a
The adorable baby trike is actually a bootleg, which I’ll get to in my next post.
0907151816
*faint Malcolm laugh in the background*
8 thoughts on “Dragon*Con 2015: The Adventures of Ian Malcolm and Claire Dearing

    1. I know right? I literally almost fell off an escalator when I saw him and it took me a good minute to scramble to my feet and stop laughing and gasping long enough to ask for a picture.

      “I help those who help themselves! Woob woob woob woob”

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a wonderful time to be a Jurassic Park fan. You can finally go to a nerd convention and see it full of JP cosplays and merchandise! This movie was just what the JP fan community needed.

    Like

    1. I know, right? It completely blew me out of the water to see how many people were just… being JP fans like it was no big deal. Like the most I’ve seen representing JP even at sci-fi cons in the past was an Alan Grant or two, and there I was surrounded by Owens. It was really, really incredible.

      Like

    2. Also, you wouldn’t believe how many people there were in JP T-shirts who walked past JP cosplayers without so much as a look. In the past any JP people would’ve freaked out to see anybody else who shared the tiny fandom, but now it’s widely accepted as one of the major sci-fi fandoms. It makes me pinch myself.

      Also, nobody I met had a JPLegacy account. Figures.

      Like

  2. Wait, they have official licensed replica Grant Raptor Claws now? I may have to get me one of those… Looks like you had a good time 🙂

    “… a deplorable excess of personality…”

    -Mike J.

    Like

    1. They sure did! I got mine from this one booth that sold nothing but movie prop replicas, and my claw and a different model were next to a sign that said “Universal Studios Orlando exclusive”. Now I don’t know if that was an attempt to get people to pay more for them– I’ve been to Universal upwards of 10 times and not once did I see a raptor claw like that there– but if it is in fact an exclusive, you may need to either look online or take a road trip.

      And thank you! I did have a wonderful time 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

